- Philippine Culture

History Search

Home | Tourism | Showbiz | Culture | Trivia | History | Arts | Churches | Related Products | Directory

Sergio Osmeña - Fourth President

Second President of the Philippine Commonwealth

Sergio Osmeña was Vice President under Manuel L. Quezon, and rose to the Presidency upon Quezon's death in 1944.

While Manuel Quezon was aide-de-camp to Gen emilio Aguinaldo in 1898, Sergio Osmeña was a personal aide to the Spanish governor of Cebu in 1898. He later served as

  • Councilor, Municipality of Cebu (1903)
  • Provincial Fiscal of Cebu and Negros Oriental (1904)
  • Governor of Cebu (1906)
  • Assemblyman, then Representative, representing 2nd District of Cebu (1907-1922)
    • 1st Legislature (1907-1910)
    • 2nd Legislature (1910-1913)
    • 3rd Legislature (1913-1916)
    • 4th Legislature (1916-1919)
    • 5th Legislature (1919-1921)
  • Speaker of the Philippine Assembly, (1907-1916)
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives (1916-1922)
  • Senator for the Tenth Senatorial District (Cebu) (1922-1935
    • Sixth Legislature (1922-1925)
    • Seventh Legislature (1925-1928)
    • Eighth Legislature (1928-1931)
    • 9th Legislature (1931-1934)
    • 10th Legislature (1934-1935)
  • Senate President Pro Tempore (1922-1934)
  • Vice President of the Commonwealth (1935-1944)
  • Secretary of Public Instruction (1935-1938)

He ran for election to the first Philippine Assembly of 1907 and was elected Speaker of that body. Osmeña was only 29 and already the highest-ranking Filipino official.

Osmeña became president of the Commonwealth on Quezon's death in 1944. He returned to the Philippines the same year with General Douglas MacArthur and the liberation forces. After the war, Osmeña restored the Commonwealth government and the various executive departments.

He continued the fight for Philippine independence. His term as fourth President (of the Philippine Commonwealth) overlapped with that Jose P. Laurel, third President ( of the Second Republic under the Japanese ) until the end of World war II.

For the presidential election of 1946, Osmeña refused to campaign, saying that the Filipino people knew of his record of 40 years of honest and faithful service. He was defeated by Manuel Roxas, who won 54 percent of the vote and became the fifth President and first President of the independent Third Republic of the Philippines.

After his defeat in the 1946 election, Osmeña retired to his home in Cebu. He served in the Council of State of the Roxas, Quirino, Magsaysay and Garcia administrations.

He died at the age of 83 on October 19, 1961, at the Veteran's Memorial Hospital in Quezon City. He is buried in the Manila North Cemetery in Manila.

Back to List of Presidents


Top History Links

Philippine Centennial
Heroes of the Revolution
Unsung Heroes
The Katipunan
Mga Pangulo ng Pilipinas
Philam War Documents
Philippine Revolution Documents

Filipino Spirit

Evolution of the Filipino Flag
Panatang Makabayan
Pledge of Allegiance
1956: Lupang Hinirang (Filipino)
1934: Philippine Hymn (English)
1899: Filipinas (Spanish)
1898: Marcha Nacional(melody)
Bayan Ko
Ads by Kabayan
Filipina Beauty
Secrets, Tips and Tricks.
For the Beautiful Filipina

Ads by Kabayan
Pinoy Showbiz
Filipino Celebrity Profile, News
Angel, Kim Chiu, John Lloyd, Piolo
Ads by Kabayan
Philippine Tourism
How to have fun visiting
The 7,107 Philippine islands - Philippine Culture Recommends

Laguna Business Directory

» Laguna Business Directory - The complete business directory for businesses in Laguna, Philippines.

Pinoy Food

» Tunay na Lasang Pinoy - Savor traditional Pinoy food.

Be Naturally Beautiful with Splash Products

» Filipina Beauty - Be naturally beautiful with Filipina beauty secrets and beauty products

Austrian Swarovski Pearl Rosary Necklace

» KC Gems Elegant, inexpensive hand-made bead accessories perfect for you or as gifts for your loved ones. - Philippine Culture